With a new year many have already made New Year’s resolutions. Ranging from dieting to meeting new friends, resolutions represent change.

Regardless of how many New Year’s resolutions are actually kept, some are adamant about this year’s batch of resolutions because…..people want to change. But, what about God? Does He have any New Year’s resolutions for this-or any-year? If so, what are they?

The truth is that God doesn’t make New Year resolutions for this-or any other-year. The reason why is that resolutions are about change, and God never changes (Malachi 3:6).  Since God is always the same, you can count on Him to be the same this year as last-or any year for that matter. God is the same right now as He was whenever the beginning began, the coming of Jesus, or a minute ago. My friend, that’s good news.

Not only is God the same (Hebrews 13:8), but He’s always willing to help us change to be more like Him. To not want to change is to be satisfied with the present situation. I don’t know about you, but I want to change, because I need to. I’m not nearly satisfied with where I’m at in my walk with God, are you?

While I’m changing this year I invite you to do the same. Even if you’ve already written down New Year’s resolutions ask God to show you that area or areas needing changing. God might surprise you by pointing out an area that seems insignificant, yet making that change may bring success to the rest of your life. Nothing’s too small for God’s help.

I can do this-we can do this. And watch God have His way with the results.

Happy New Year, to each of you following my posts. It’s going to be a year like no other.

Leave a comment